Oh what a gift the gifty gie us!

:) We had our family party, and it was a blast! We got some very fun gifts, and had a great time with everyone!

Ruby came home from the shop in time for me to get most of the sewing I planned to do for the event. I wanted to make personalized dish towels for the group.  Some ended up being a bit plain, due to time constraints.  I bought the waffle-weave and other dish towel fabric from fabric.com and hemmed it, then embroidered some text and motifs. Several of the motifs I got from embroidery library.com, and they are beautiful, and the text fonts are from Husqvarna Viking.  Need I say that I took advantage of some of fabric.com’s outrageous online percentage-off sales?

a selection

Oh, the title of the post, a mash-up of the Robert Burns poem which is supposed to translate as,

Oh, that God would give us the very smallest of gifts (then, To be able to see ourselves as others see us)

Grateful for the very heart-felt thoughts of the speakers at church today, who talked, emotionally, about gifts.  I had to keep dabbing my eyes.  And then we sang “Once in Royal David’s City” which always gets me weepy at the end: “And He leads His children on to the place where He has gone…”

I love my family and am so pleased that I’ve been allowed to be with them during this life! Thank you Father in heaven.  I cannot see myself as others see me, but I hope my family members see that I love them…

Leave a Reply

My Puzzling Piece: A Glance Into A Puzzling Existance

Ongoing Search for the Missing Pieces

through the luminary lens

The sun is the great luminary of all life - Frank Lloyd Wright

A write a day can keep the writer (relatively) sane

This is my personal blog as I and my family transform from suburbanites to missionaries.

Jesup Branch, Kingsland Georgia Stake

THE CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LATTER-DAY SAINTS

Text/Isle

Text and Textile on Vancouver Island

BeastieBlog

Hand-knitted monsters made in the heart of Dublin city! Come on in and meet the family...

Pointes of View

A City Gal's Traversal of Small-Town Suburbia

backcountry with the kids

Backcountry tripping with the kids in tow.

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

Where writing is a performance art and every post is a show.

la petite maison bijoux

individually handcrafted jewellery designs inspired by nature from Haute-Loire, France

pacificparatrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

once upon each day

an (almost) daily photo project by dorothee lang

Thoughts From An American Woman

Daily thoughts on my life as a Christian, a housewife and an Army mom

It's Sew Anny!

Do what makes your heart sing!

Lisa Buck

Caffeine is mandatory, sanity is not.

My Love Affair With....

Scattered thoughts and a bit of insanity. Don't touch my coffee.

Words to the Wise or otherwise just words

WordPress.com site is a place where great minds can dream about great things.

Words Unread Are Only Dead

Writing: It's my act of courage

tinasgibson

Working my way through half a century of life

thekitschwitch

Good taste is a social disease

Ask Mormon Girl

Unorthodox answers from an absolutely imperfect source

Black Mormon Female

One of these things is not like the other...

Slightely Mormon

This is the personal testimony of Margaret Slighte. Everything I do, I do, Slighte-ly!

catself

Cat to Self: The Conversation

Nature on the Edge

Urban wildlife photography by Liz Hardman

PRIORHOUSE blog

PHOTOS, ART - and a little bit of LIT!

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

red flannel pantry

creative pursuits in the kitchen, garden, library and sewing room

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Embroidery 24/7

So Many Embroideries, So Little Time

Gabriel and Co

Just a connection for thither friends

J M LIGHT

the world as I see it

CARDBOARD BOX OFFICE

A world of film, a house of stuff.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

That Montreal Girl

A little bit of this and a little bit of that

Serendipitous Cookery

Just another WordPress.com site

Backseat Writer

captivated by the backseat view

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

handmadestitchbystitch

A little bit of knitting, a little bit of crochet, a whole lot of happiness :)

Knit It Up

Tales of a Knitterly Hook-er

Missives from Nowhere

Sitting at the end of the world

HeartBound

Compassionate Raw Vegan Living

Unique So Chic

Today I Will Be Creative...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers

