How to get rid of a cold?

As a former psych major, I was very impressed with the concept that STRESS plays a part in one’s physical illnesses, as well as mental disorders.  The good old Social Adjustment Rating Scale by Holmes and Rahe assigns points to every life event that can be seen as stressful, and of course I’ve racked up a few this past year, what with getting married, moving, retiring, many more that go along with those things. So I understand that I am justified in having more colds and illnesses at this time; it’s only natural. I remember that whenever I’d take my kids to a new daycare center, they’d all catch the local illness and be wiped out one by one. And then regenerate. Thank you, Lord.

Being the curious fellow of the human race that I am, I want to know how I can feel better.

You go to the family doctor here in this college town, and they dose you up with the antibiotic-du-jour. But only if you have additional symptoms that would indicate more than a cold: AN INFECTION. Yeah. If you happen to look receptive (?)  to the health care professional, they might half-heartedly suggest using a neti pot. I understand, they want to boost you on your way to recovery, and I want to be boosted out of their office and on the way to recovery, as well. And, if you are coughing like an absolute screaming banshee, you must go pay the professional a visit to get some good cough elixir that’s not available to the poor sick slob over the counter.

But, what do the people do, who have no health insurance, who can’t afford to go straight to the doctor and pay 100 bucks per family member for the visit and who knows how much else for the antibiotic-du-jour and non-Mickey-Mouse cough medicine? I mean, you’re looking at hundreds of dollars of paycheck, just evaporating, just going out to people who don’t need your money as much as you do. No wonder people are walking around, coughing and sneezing all over the rest of us who have variably compromised immunity because they racked up one too many stressful events on the Social Adjustment Rating Scale, or worse: an autoimmune disease that just doesn’t ever go away. We are the world. We are the children.

And, even with the high-dollar meds under the belt, I still feel hagged-out and lousy.

I’m looking for other best bets in this scheme. The Word of Wisdom–some taboos like tobacco and alcohol,  advice to go for mild food and herbs, and wheat for Man (whole wheat, the one with the big fiber content). If you don’t know what I’m referring to as the Word of Wisdom, I know some Mormon missionaries who will be happy to come and talk to you about it. Edgar Cayce’s castor oil pack. Chinese mustard plaster. Yoga. Hot oil massage. Salt water gargling. Meditation (OMMMMM hack, hack MMMMMMM). Or, as James says is the Army’s cure for everything from blisters to pneumonia: drink more water.

OK, rant about the common cold is over.

Breathe!

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

Depression doesn't define me anymore. Now its all (mostly) about inspiration and adventure

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

Katy Trail Creations

Find the appliances kitchen and good recipes

Quilting and Embroidery

bringing beauty into the world

The Springboard

Jumping Headfirst into Creativity

nerdylibrarianlife.wordpress.com/

Crafts, Books and Other Nerdy Interests

Readerly Geek

Films, Books, and All Sorts of Geekery

CoffewithCreamer DIY'er , Crunchy Mom

Failing forward with each try

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

thistledownandswaddlings

Thistledown and Swaddlings, Jewelry, quilting, baby stuff and some artwork

Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

