The Cinderella Dress that stayed home

I loved this on the cover of the Simplicity Project Runway pattern, so I made it to wear to the Gold and Green ball in Gainesville Saturday. But once it was made and zipped up on my body, I lost my nerve. The dress stayed home in the closet, looking less flashy in the shadows. In the interest of cheapness, the material for this dress only cost about $30. I bought quite a bit more than I used, because the Project Runway patterns tell you to buy fabric for the feature you want. For instance, this pattern included besides the one here, a sleeveless version, one with 3/4 length sleeves, a stand-up collar, a cape collar, and one without the sash.  I estimated 6 3/8 yards for this, but I have more than a yard left over.

the gown in question

It was fun to make, not that tough. But the material is very unforgiving. Snags here and there. A little bunched up seam just past the zipper, possibly evoking Bertha Butt of the Butt sisters memories while out on the dance floor cutting a rug in a poufy, very poufy skirt. The beautiful tie in the front keeps coming untied due to its slippery nature.  I am uncomfortable in clothes that you have to constantly readjust. So Cinderella stayed home and I went to the ball wearing the usual black.

I did have a remnant project from all this, however.

Remnant corsage

I looked for some floral tape to make a corsage, and couldn’t find any, so I grabbed a strip of the slippery, glittery polyester, wrapped it around the camellia stems, and secured it with double sided tape, then tied a bow around it.

These camellias are so gorgeous, I felt inspired to wear them and not let my dear get me a store-bought corsage.

We met some friends at the ball who had gotten married on our first anniversary, so this was their first Gold and Green ball together, and our second. Marvelous to think of how much more at ease we were a year later! Dances used to get me all stressed out; now that I can walk in with a full dance card, with a partner I love to be with who always tells me how beautiful I am, it’s a snap. We went out afterwards and had a late and very romantic dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. It was a wonderful evening!

Camellias accomplishing their purpose in life

They didn't freeze

I was afraid they would freeze, because the weather said it was going down below 32 degrees, but I went out Sunday morning, and they were still blooming like madness in the brisk air! So breathtakingly beautiful!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlyn
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 15:33:19

    You are so clever. I love all your ideas and there are so many of them!

    Reply

  2. dollardressfriday
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 23:54:02

    I love this dress! I tend to wear some kind of “out there” stuff, but I wasn’t born with the confidence to wearbold outfits. You just have to know that you are wearing something beautiful and original and strut your stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fascinating World

A small attempt to gather unusual and amazing facts about elements of Nature.

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

Yarn, Books & Roses

life with a chronic disease and a really big yarn stash

Tricia, Daisy and May too

Where dachshunds garden.

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

Ain't Found A Good Title Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

Saturday Arvo Thoughts...

Reflections on topics influenced by my interest in travel, family history and history in general. Watch this space…

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

A Trivial Mind At Work

Photography by Dennis Wagoner

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

househusband, bucketlister, storyteller

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

Looking for meanings in words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

