Remnant Goth-a-rama

It’s that time of year when the birds are singing and flowers bursting into delicate bloom, and lots of women are thinking of new clothes in pastels and the soft colors of spring. Some of them, however, are liking their old favorite color since they were in the alter-culture of  high school: black.
I’ve been watching so many NCIS reruns lately, I cannot help but wonder what Abby, the Goth-clothed researcher, is going to wear next. And I heard recently my favorite sewing guinea pig say that she loves Goth. How can I accommodate?  Theoretically, black, red, skulls, sharp metal pointed things and other hardware–have I listed the fundamentals–can be part of this look.
I bought this poly/rayon knit on sale from fabric.com, so it’s technically not a remnant, but I noticed it had a hole:

paint mark, with hole

I ended up with a length that possibly was not all usable to make a dress. So I made a quick skirt using McCall’s M6247, a Nancy Zieman pattern. Oh, how I do love Ms. Zieman and her short-cuts and tips. This skirt required only 3/4 yard of knit fabric–HOW INCREDIBLE is that? You can make a skirt out of less than a yard of material (for up to size 12 RTW sizes, size 16 in US patterns), and in only a few minutes as well. Yes, I made the skirt in probably 30 minutes, start to finish. And I used less than a yard of 1″ wide elastic for the waistband, which I had on hand. I’ve got plenty of RTW elastic-waist skirts in the closet that I paid $$ for at the clothing stores; I am all ok with them.

Skirt, with lace shawl

The shawl is a remnant of black metallic lace with double border scalloped edges so you don’t have to do anything to finish them. I can see how this skirt and shawl can fit into a Goth girl’s wardrobe. I had some other ideas that didn’t really pan out, such as applique-ing a skull from the plaid fabric onto a black shirt, or maybe onto the shawl. What if I let my creative ideas about Goth fashion flow; what would become of them?

I got an email saying that “WE” –the bloggers of WordPress who committed to postaday2011 or postaweek2011–have completed 25% of the challenge they gave us at the beginning of the year. And they’d like to know what our challenges have been (see link below: I couldn’t insert it here without the whole rest of the text being linked to the link; that is, I cannot “turn off” the link).

I answered the poll: keeping from getting distracted as my big challenge, but the real challenge has been staying true to my chosen niche. Before, I was blabbing about whatever I felt like, typical housewife fodder that pinpointed my identity as a stay-at-homer. Now I’m trying to stick with my original idea, sewing with remnants and keeping the costs of creativity down. Although it’s been hard to keep it narrow, I feel like I have much more focus and I’ve discovered treasure troves of fun and fabulous blogs through the Tag Surfer, found fascinating subjects and ideas that are dear to my heart. Originally begun as a journal for me, my blog has helped me develop a voice for writing, and has become my pseudo-job. I’ve met some wonderful personalities, people with great stories to tell, gifted people who want to help others with their creative development, and brash new ideas whose formulas have yet to be tweaked! So for the 25% I have so far completed, it’s been very positive! And WordPress is a great platform.

Now 25% Complete!

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

Depression doesn't define me anymore. Now its all (mostly) about inspiration and adventure

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

Katy Trail Creations

Find the appliances kitchen and good recipes

Quilting and Embroidery

bringing beauty into the world

The Springboard

Jumping Headfirst into Creativity

nerdylibrarianlife.wordpress.com/

Crafts, Books and Other Nerdy Interests

Readerly Geek

Films, Books, and All Sorts of Geekery

CoffewithCreamer DIY'er , Crunchy Mom

Failing forward with each try

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

thistledownandswaddlings

Thistledown and Swaddlings, Jewelry, quilting, baby stuff and some artwork

Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

Zippy Quilts

Modern Quilts With A Twist

