Epic remnants and Free Motion Quilting

My DH pointed out to me yesterday, as he studied in Exodus 26:12, that specific uses for fabric remnants were given back in Moses’ time. Check out the King James version Online (and many variations.)

I had a little piece of yellow Daisy Lace fabric by Tina Givens Fairy Tip Toes for Westminster Fabrics, not quite 36 inches square.

Daisy Lace (Lorna Doones are Elizabeth's prescription for nausea)

I also had two coordinating Fairy Tip Toes prints, a Chocolate Cup Cake Medley and a Yellow Ribbon Fare. Plus, I found some plain yellow not-quite-quilting standard fabric, and serged together a patchwork top in 13″ squares. I used the Daisy Lace for the backing, and some Warm & Natural Needled Cotton batting (on sale at JoAnn’s).

Westminster Fabrics

I added some simple machine embroidery to the plain yellow blocks, in a dark plum color thread.

Machine embroidering motif on a plain block

I tried to embroider a name with my sewing machine’s Text Stitching function, but I couldn’t get it to do right through all the layers, so I picked it all out, then hand-embroidered it in the same needle hole-ridden spot.

Embroidery

The real reason for this madness was that I was dying to try free-motion quilting.

Currently, I subscribe to so many sites that send me creative prompts all the time. Knitting, crocheting, Artist Daily, quilting, Real Simple, Fabulous After Forty are a few of the emails I get every day! Lately I’ve actually paid some attention to the Art Quilting (or is it Quilting Arts?) ideas that filter across the ethernet to my inbox. “You can do it!” they assure me. “Don’t be afraid!” “Just put on some music, get comfortable, set your feed dogs on free motion, and go for it!”

Although I’ve always thought of myself as (gawsh, gee-whiz) artistic, I also have that left-brain push that wants me to go by the book, everything pigeonholed into the correct category and function, to make it work. That’s why I needed to see the instructions for free-motion quilting, even though what it amounts to is, you just do your own thing. You lower the feed dogs (my machine has a settings screen with check boxes and + or – numbers), attach a free-motion foot (mine is open-toed) and just move the fabric around while you put your foot on the pedal.
I tried it out and needed to adjust the plus or minuses, which govern how close the needle gets to the throat plate: you want to have enough room for the fabric to move around freely. The current issue of Quilting Arts has several articles on free-motion machine quilting. I decided to try the stipple motif, which turned out not exactly perfect. But you don’t have to be. Grabbing the rather heavy thickness of several layers of fabric and batting, and moving it around, can be a bit strenuous! I can see how Nancy Zieman’s grabaroos might be useful.

For the binding, I used double fold bias tape in a coordinating plum shade.

finished little quilt

It is small, maybe a good size to throw down on the floor and let the baby roll around on! Not exactly an epic project, like using a remnant to decorate the tabernacle in Moses’ time, but in my personal history, it is my very first attempt at free-motion machine quilting. I like it!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 08:23:04

    OMG!!! It’s is beautiful and so well done. You are one talented lady and love to watch what you’re inventing.

    Reply

  2. Ethel Grogan
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 19:12:48

    I like it too!!! You rock lady!

    Reply

  3. SewCalGal
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 19:50:36

    Very cute.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Blankets from Very EZ to Somewhat EZ « Project Remnant Redo

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

Depression doesn't define me anymore. Now its all (mostly) about inspiration and adventure

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

Katy Trail Creations

Find the appliances kitchen and good recipes

Quilting and Embroidery

bringing beauty into the world

The Springboard

Jumping Headfirst into Creativity

nerdylibrarianlife.wordpress.com/

Crafts, Books and Other Nerdy Interests

Readerly Geek

Films, Books, and All Sorts of Geekery

CoffewithCreamer DIY'er , Crunchy Mom

Failing forward with each try

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

thistledownandswaddlings

Thistledown and Swaddlings, Jewelry, quilting, baby stuff and some artwork

Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

