A Tale o’ Two Tee Shirts

Life wouldn’t be the same without our tee-shirts. Can you imagine a wardrobe without them?

We have a family member who works at Thread Pit, where you can buy cool tee shirts, cheap.

But what will you do when your tee-shirt slogan becomes passe or the fabric gets threadbare or you just plain outgrow the shirt? Landfill? According to a story on ArticleClick, remnant fabrics and used clothing take up 10% of space in landfills in LA.

Lucky for me, when I was shopping at the local Hospice Thrift store, I spotted two tee’s from bygone rock concerts (or maybe Wal-Mart, who knows?) One, a bejeweled Led Zeppelin and the other, a Nirvana, each a couple of $’s apiece. Only bad thing was, they were both size SMALL.

Another day, I scooped up some remnants at the Wal-Mart cutting counter. This pink cotton jersey knit, which set me back about $2.40, turned out to be an almost perfect match to the Nirvana shirt.

Remnant tee shirt project

All I did was 1) cut the side seams of the tee-shirt all the way from sleeve to hem. 2) Cut two five-inch wide strips of the remnant (by the way, I washed it first) and 3) serged the fabric strips to the tee shirt seams, right sides together. I turned down a hem at each end, then after serging the side seams, I sewed the hems with a 2.5 zigzag stitch. I did go back over the seams, too, that had been serged, with the zigzag for reinforcement. It took me less than an hour, I think, while singing “hey! wait! I got a real complaint!”

side panel

Remnant redo Nirvana

So that’s one less crusty band shirt and remnant roll in the landfill today.

Next is a shirt I made from a 1-yard remnant of knit fabric that, if not sold 1/2 price as a remnant, would have been $14.99. It was quite stretchy and a bit hard to work with. That is why I wanted to use it to make my first Emma Seabrooke SewkeyesE project, the Claire Tee Top. Seabrooke markets “Knit Patterns for the Hard to Fit” in which tops are based on shoulder size, cup size and bust measurement. She also sells a line of knit stay-tapes. I picked up a few of these at the Quilt Expo, and I love working with them.

Me and tee

The point is that as we go from the size small to the large, do our shoulders really grow in the same proportion as our wobbly bits? No, not really, except for maybe bit of fatback accumulating up there. And then when you get into the larger sizes, you get even more hit and miss when you try on clothes. Some L sizes are bigger on top, some bigger in the hips and smaller on top, all permutations, etc. Good luck!

I like the way it fits in the shoulders but skims the body and doesn’t hug the spare tire like Saran Wrap. Do you think it is an extreme contrast to the sliced and diced Nirvana tee? I will definitely try more of Emma Seabrooke’s designs for the hard to fit, while trying to avoid putting more fabric in the landfill.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Berthine
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 15:36:35

    The ever so versatile t-shirts! At my daughter’s 8th birthday party, I set up a long worktable in the back yard, arranged several squeeze bottles of dye I mixed in the kitchen, and gave each guest a t-shirt and a plastic bag … yup, tie die party! Instead of bringing home candy and such momentos, each person left with a new t-shirt!

    Reply

  2. Na Na
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 19:47:46

    Love your new t-shirt. Have you tried making your undies from t-shirts yet? Perfect fit and last just about forever. Very easy to make. I have the tutorial on my blog if your interested. .

    Reply

  3. rosyragpatch
    May 02, 2012 @ 14:46:26

    I liked your teeshirts very much. I will follow your advice and try smaller sizes – I usually cut down from larger.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Totally distracted this weekend by a pattern | Fibercrush
  5. Kendra Richards
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 02:05:13

    Oh my goodness! You are so cute & I am drooling over your Nirvana shirt! AND IT”S PINK! That is hard to find! I have a cute black one that has an image of the band & says “Nirvana” in pink and it was tough to find it. I love that you shared on this & what an amazing bargain! I have actually been looking for some jersey knit fabric myself — seems my WalMart does not carry it. 😦 Thanks for sharing how you made this tee work. I will remember this tutorial. You sooo rock the Nirvana shirt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

Depression doesn't define me anymore. Now its all (mostly) about inspiration and adventure

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

Katy Trail Creations

Find the appliances kitchen and good recipes

Quilting and Embroidery

bringing beauty into the world

The Springboard

Jumping Headfirst into Creativity

nerdylibrarianlife.wordpress.com/

Crafts, Books and Other Nerdy Interests

Readerly Geek

Films, Books, and All Sorts of Geekery

CoffewithCreamer DIY'er , Crunchy Mom

Failing forward with each try

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

thistledownandswaddlings

Thistledown and Swaddlings, Jewelry, quilting, baby stuff and some artwork

Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

