Faith Personal Progress Project, with Remnants

Right now I’m working on several projects at once, as is usual for me. I know it would be better to do one thing at a time and finish it and clean up afterwards before starting on a new project, but I’ve never been all that linear as far as progressing through a project. I tend to catch a wave of enthusiasm and roll with it. Hopefully the project doesn’t end up in the UFO pile, but sometimes it does.

I’m working on a couple of tops and dresses for girls, plus the Baby Brit quilt-along, and a quilted travel pillow I’m doing for a Craftsy Class, Scrap Quilting.

I just finished this little art quilt wall hanging.

“Faith” art quilt

I used a bunch of remnants, naturally. I found a little piece of fusible quilt batting in the bin at Joann’s, that was just about the size of the wall hanging I wanted to make.

Then, the inspiration started to nag at me little by little. In the church I attend, we have a Personal Progress program for the young women to do, which involves lots of scripture study and service projects, for the purpose of developing a testimony and whatever talents one may possess, and doing good works. The first of the 8 virtues in the program is faith. I felt that I wanted to do a project for that virtue that included my newest hobby, scrap quilting with remnant fabrics.

An art quilt is a small project, not too overwhelming. It has a message, not too complicated. And I found that I had fabric and ideas that really could mesh together for my desired design. I used a lot of white cotton fabric with white stars: the color of the virtue of faith is white. I wanted to use a tree for a motif, because some of the verses of scripture that I wanted to refer to, speak of faith as if it were a seed, to be given a chance to grow in your heart. If it does grow successfully in your heart, wouldn’t you want it to be a tall, strong, beautiful tree? A redwood tree, the tallest and strongest rock of a tree! And I picture it growing out of a heart of stone, with a living, beating heart within. As in Ezekiel 36-26,
“A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.” The prairie points edging triangles were leftover from a prior project. The brown and gray patches of fabric were remnants. The green patches were from a bag of remnants that my mom had in her fabric stash. I used embroidery software to create the center statement, the scripture from Hebrews 11:1, and the other words from various scriptures, embroidered on gray stabilized fabric. I cut out the wordstrips and appliqued them on the quilt top along with the other patches of fabric, having glued them down with 505 Spray and Fix first. I stitched around the borders with one of the machine’s programmed stitches and Snow White Robison-Anton rayon thread.

Since the last post I made, Louise at Slave to My Needles blog nominated me for the One Lovely Blog award. Thank you for the wonderful encouragement and compliments! I love to read your blog and I’ve enjoyed checking out the several blogs you introduced me to in that post. I do want to comply with the requirements for nominating others and telling things about myself but I would like to do that a bit at a time if it’s all right. I love the time I spend in the virtual world looking at all the marvelous projects and posts, but sometimes it takes away from the real world of accomplishment, so I have to do some balancing! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. espirational
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:15:55

    That is a beautiful quilt with a wonderful messge as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

Depression doesn't define me anymore. Now its all (mostly) about inspiration and adventure

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

Katy Trail Creations

Find the appliances kitchen and good recipes

Quilting and Embroidery

bringing beauty into the world

The Springboard

Jumping Headfirst into Creativity

nerdylibrarianlife.wordpress.com/

Crafts, Books and Other Nerdy Interests

Readerly Geek

Films, Books, and All Sorts of Geekery

CoffewithCreamer DIY'er , Crunchy Mom

Failing forward with each try

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

thistledownandswaddlings

Thistledown and Swaddlings, Jewelry, quilting, baby stuff and some artwork

Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

