Batting a thousand remnants

I love batting remnants, and I always find myself scooping them up from the remnant bin at Joann Fabric. Why?
1) Remnants are 50% off the regular price.
2) You can use little bits of batting for all sorts of projects.
3) You can experiment with different types of batting to see which ones you like.

types of batting in these remnants: Pellon fusible thermolam, fusible fleece, polyester high-loft, light blend long arm, wool

I found this kit for a Go-Baby-Go Diaper tote in the clearance rack at Joann’s, marked waaaay down in price. Here’s one like it, which was listed on ebay but no one bid on it, not even for $.99 plus shipping and handling. All you had to do was cut out the pieces, which were pre-printed on fabric, cut out the front, back, strap and gusset in a layer of batting, and sew it all together using the 1-page instruction sheet. I used fusible batting to pad the sides, gusset and strap, and I liked the way the batting fused with the fabric to make compact panels that were strong but still soft.

Go-Baby-Go tote

cute little inside pocket, too

If one likes the inside better, it’s reversible!

reversible, with pink lining side facing out

Batting remnants of a yard or less can be used for totes and purses, baby quilts, art quilts, wall hangings, quiet books, toys, pot holders, Christmas stockings, place mats, table runners, slippers, pillows, all sorts of things!

Now (help!) I have some questions for you: What do you do with small pieces of batting? What is the best batting to use for serious quilting? Is polyester batting ok to use in a cotton quilt? Is it ok to wash a quilt that has wool batting inside?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Na Na
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 10:04:43

    As a professional machine quilter I get lots of scrap batting. I use smaller pieces as swiffer sheets. I collect the tiniest pieces to use as pillow stuffing for the pillows I give the animal shelter. Any type batting is fine for serious quilting. I match the batting to how the quilt (or other item) will eventually be used. When I make quilted vests or jackets for the grand-kids I often use polyester or wool. For children’s quilts I prefer to use the flame retardant type. My window quilts have insulating batting. Wall quilts I use a heavy cotton for verticle strength. For my own bed I use wool or light weight cotton. For older grand-kids who I know will drag a quilt around the floor and it will get washed numerous times I use a polyester or wool. Check the batting instruction sheets about washing and quilting distance apart before you use it. Some batting requires more dense quilting than others. It’s ok to mix and match fabrics and batting. There are no batting police anymore.

    Reply

    • jenyjenny
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 10:19:25

      I think the batting police are still around, but not as vocal as they once were…:). Thanks for the expert and sensible info!

      Reply

    • jenyjenny
      Oct 28, 2012 @ 07:32:21

      Ha, ha! Talk about the batting police, my first comment was not posted because the spam police suppressed it and it was lost in comment limbo–I did not realize that was the reason it didn’t post so I wrote a second reply—just in case you wondered why there were 2 dippy responses by me on this comment thread…I am grateful for the hundreds of spam comments that have been repressed but it was weird to see my own comment squashed!

      Reply

  2. jenyjenny
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 17:48:45

    Thanks for your expertise! I was hoping you’d take a look and give me some pointers, I appreciate you!

    Reply

  3. handstitch
    Oct 20, 2012 @ 13:54:22

    It’s funny, isn’t it. I have never heard or seen batting remnants. Now, I must pay closer attention! Terrific idea. I will need to pull up a chair, grab a cup of Chai, and slowly read through all your other fabulous tips and creations 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

medical plaintalk

Medical topics based on author's columns for The Elks Magazine, the official publication of the fraternal order of the Elks of the United States of America.

Here In Fowlerville

Our Journey with Family, Faith, Friendship, and Fun

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Patchwork Pirate

Keeping up with life, the universe, and everything!

My Creative Corner3

ONE stitch. ONE block. ONE row at at time-Vicki

The other side

Blogging on autism and art.

Fascinating World

A small attempt to gather unusual and amazing facts about elements of Nature.

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

Yarn, Books & Roses

life with a chronic disease and a really big yarn stash

Tricia, Daisy and May too

Where dachshunds garden.

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

Ain't Found A Good Title Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

Saturday Arvo Thoughts...

Reflections on topics influenced by my interest in travel, family history and history in general. Watch this space…

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

A Trivial Mind At Work

Photography by Dennis Wagoner

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

househusband, bucketlister, storyteller

Living for Experiences

Simplify . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Random babbling about sewing, life and whatever comes to mind.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

Looking for meanings in words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

