My Tarte-y, Heart-y Birthday & Remnant Project

My less-than satisfactory blog photos of the past few months are partly the result of the Canon EOS20D having bitten the dust. DH took the 20D to the local camera shop to get it fixed. After the repair shop mailed it off to Canon, they sent it back with regrets: they don’t make the parts for these any more and so it can’t be fixed. Our only option is to take it to a dealer in a big city, like Orlando, and maybe an old-timer in the back room of a camera shop can fix it. They couldn’t even tell us what was wrong with it. The 20D was made from 2005 to 2006. It is now 2013 and no one can repair it? Aaargh.

So DH got me for a birthday present—as consolation for the functional obsolescence I feel from being older AND having a defunct camera, 2 new cameras to play with. One is a Canon Rebel which can use the same lens as the 20D. The other is the pocket-size Nikon Coolpix.

I snuck the Coolpix out of my purse to photograph our very romantic birthday dinner in the flickering oil-lamp light at Embers.

blackened filet mignon and colossal crab appetizer

blackened filet mignon and collossol crab appetizer

bronzed cobia with lobster mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus with Bearnaise sauce

bronzed cobia with lobster mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus with Bearnaise sauce

DH's braised short ribs with fire-roasted beefsteak tomatoes and caramelized onion blue cheese, and sauteed spinach

DH’s braised short ribs with fire-roasted beefsteak tomatoes and caramelized onion blue cheese, and sauteed spinach

this is the remains of our dessert, apple tarte tatin

this is the remains of our dessert, apple tarte tatin

The tiny Coolpix fits perfectly in a purse pocket, but I wanted it to have a bit more protection from bumps, so I made a little felted case for it, out of remnants.

felted wool remnants from a couple of old sweaters

felted wool remnants from a couple of old sweaters

I heart my new camera

I heart my new camera

Coolpix fits in case very snugly

Coolpix fits in case very snugly

The cost for this case was $0 because I had these scraps kicking around. I used hand-quilting thread to hand-sew the felted wool pieces together. I try to pick up old wool sweaters when I see them at yard sales and thrift shops. If they are not already felted from some laundry mishap, you can prepare woolens for felting (or “fulling” as it is more correctly called) by washing them in the machine in warm or hot water and making sure they agitate quite a bit. Drying in the dryer also accelerates the process, making stretchy knitted fabric turn into tight, shrunken, thick woolen material.

On the way home from the restaurant, we stopped at the grocery store to pick up an item we couldn’t do without. The plan was for me to run in and get it, while DH circled the parking lot and came around to pick me up. I made the purchase, went out the door and saw what appeared to be our car pulling up with a strange woman at the wheel. Then I realized that wasn’t our car after all, ours was parked out front but DH wasn’t in it. So I went out and climbed in. DH had gone in to use the restroom, and when he came out he saw what he thought was some strange hoodlum breaking into our car! Maybe I shouldn’t have gotten such a shorty-short haircut! I tell you, it’s heck to get old!

back view of my short haircut

back view of my short haircut

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ethgran
    May 08, 2013 @ 18:09:47

    I am on a restricted diet and that food is looking way too delish! Yay on the new cameras and I am really mad that your not so very old one is obsolete! Bummer. Getting old is much worse than just Heck, hon. Believe me, I know. sigh

    Reply

  2. gussie
    May 08, 2013 @ 22:08:16

    hey i want to see the front pic of your haircut! lol…i love the pic of the remaining tart…must’ve been real good…:)

    Reply

  3. Naomi Baltuck
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 23:28:31

    Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Sketching :: Drawing from Observation

Painting to See :: Peindre pour voir

My Site

Just another WordPress.com site

The Treeographer

Every tree has a story

Journeys of Len

Me, my Camera vs. the World

Snopes.com

thrifty creations

Fictionspawn Monsters

Illustrated Short Stories

The Museum

An artist's blog : drawings, photos, and words

Become a Civil Engineer

Learn more about the field of civil engineering and how to become an engineer

Journey through my Journal

Subjective realizations from a collective experience

Dernhelm

Illustrator & Writer

The Citron Review

Poetry Creative Nonfiction Micro Fiction Flash Fiction

My Time Stitching

And whatever else I have been up to...

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

medical plaintalk

Medical topics based on author's columns for The Elks Magazine, the official publication of the fraternal order of the Elks of the United States of America.

Here In Fowlerville

Our Journey with Family, Faith, Friendship, and Fun

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Patchwork Pirate

Keeping up with life, the universe, and everything!

My Creative Corner3

One Stitch. One Block. One Row at a Time--Vicki Holloway

The other side

Blogging on autism and art.

Fascinating World

A small attempt to gather unusual and amazing facts about elements of Nature.

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

Yarn, Books & Roses

life with a chronic disease and a really big yarn stash

Tricia, Daisy and May too

Where dachshunds garden.

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

Ain't Found A Good Title Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

Saturday Arvo Thoughts...

Reflections on topics influenced by my interest in travel, family history and history in general. Watch this space…

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

A Trivial Mind At Work

Photography by Dennis Wagoner

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

househusband, bucketlister, storyteller

Living for Experiences

Simplify . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Random babbling about sewing, life and whatever comes to mind.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

