Reviewing Ruby

I read the blog Sew Mama Sew, and decided to participate in Mama’s
Sewing Machine Reviews as currently featured. Good idea, I really like to read sewing machine reviews that are real testimonials that aren’t being presented for purposes of commissioned sales or something like that.

What brand and model do you have? Husqvarna Viking Ruby

How long have you had it? about 3 years

How much does that machine cost (approximately)? about $5K

What types of things do you sew? quilting, machine embroidery, clothing, bags, pillows, home dec, hats, toys

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get? I sew at least one project a week. I sew a lot of fleece things, which generate lots of lint, so she gets some wear and tear.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name? I adored Ruby until I had to put her in the shop, and she stayed in there for more than 90 days, all during November and December; that really put a damper on my holiday sewing plans last year!

What features does your machine have that work well for you? the machine embroidery feature works very well most of the time. I traded up for Ruby; I had a Viking Topaz 20 before, and I didn’t have as good an experience with her and machine embroidery, or maybe I was more of a novice when I had that machine. But Ruby seems definitely more smooth and accomplished than her predecessor Topaz 20. I like the automatic thread cutter button. I have many specialty feet to experiment with; some work better than others.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine? She sometimes shreds thread as it runs from the spool through all those mechanisms down into the needle. The shop employees will say it’s because you used cheap thread, however, it happens with all different brands from time to time. Yes, it’s worse with cheap thread (Coats and Clark), but it has happened with their favorite brands to recommend, too (Robison-Anton rayon and Madeira). Sometimes she produces bird-nesting underneath seams and I can really find no apparent reason. I re-thread the machine and maybe or maybe not will have more bird-nesting. I re-thread again and no bird-nesting. Maybe there is a little burr inside that mysterious thread path. When the repair guy tries it, it doesn’t bird-nest for him, of course.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why? I don’t think they make this machine anymore, the new model that replaced it is the Ruby Deluxe. When I attended training classes for using my new Ruby, one of the class members had a problem with her machine from Day 1; she asked for a replacement machine and they wouldn’t give her one because she had bought a floor model machine. When mine was in the shop for 90 days, the problem was the motor. I think that if I buy another machine, I will research a lot and not buy a Viking next time, even though I have tons of accessories for a Viking. I bought the Viking from a local shop, so that I could be sure of ongoing maintenance and tech support, but I was disappointed in the customer service during that crisis when she stopped working so soon after purchase. They had promised to keep me updated, but I had to initiate every query. I had to borrow back my old mechanical Janome from someone I’d lent it to for basic sewing during the time Ruby was in the shop, and the Janome was a champ. The next town south of me (an hour’s drive) has a Janome shop. Good customer service means a lot to me.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine? Cost, reputation of company, tech support, customer service, buttonhole making capability, training opportunities.

Do you have a dream machine? I once dreamed of trading up to a Husqvarna Viking Diamond Deluxe, but I don’t think the features are worth double the cost of my Ruby.

I also have a Brother serger for overlocking seams, a Husqvarna Viking serger that I mostly use for coverstitch, and an old Singer Merrittlock serger that I haven’t been able to get working, plus a little collection of toy sewing machines.

Ruby

Ruby

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ethgran
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 18:46:17

    I wouldn’t trade my old 1130 Bernina in for all the tea in China – well, I don’t drink tea so maybe it’s better to say for all the chocolate in …. umm . . . wherever it comes from. It has been a champ through thick and thin. Good thing I’m not particularly interested in machine embroidery, eh?

    Reply

  2. Marilyn
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 19:29:05

    One thing you want to consider before buying a new machine is that as of 2-1.5 years ago or so..Husq, Viking, Singer and Pfaff are all owned by the same company..If that tells you anything:) That is also why your friend might be having probs with her new machine…..

    Reply

  3. paisleypedlar
    Oct 14, 2013 @ 12:42:52

    I have been thinking about trading up my Brother Innovis 30 for some time and your post has been really helpful especially as I also hate reading the reviews which are obviously designed to sell something, I’d far rather hear from real folk what they think; so a big thank you for this one!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Brother-ly Love | paisleypedlar
  5. Barb
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 08:58:53

    I have a Viking sapphire , designer1 and just bought a used Diamond. I love my machines. Sorry you didn’t have a good experience with your dealer

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Sew Happy | Project Remnant Redo
  7. mamajoyx9
    May 26, 2014 @ 12:45:49

    Great review! I wish I would have read it before I bought my Diamond Royale!!!! I think you are right – the features sure are nice but NOT worth the 100 percent increase in price. I just bought mine a couple months ago, and it has been in the shop for 3 weeks now. The dealer’s in-house repair guy who they used as a major selling point hasn’t even looked at it yet. Frustrating. And I am left wondering if I need to buy a back-up machine for this 10-grand machine that was supposed to be my dream machine.

    Great blog! Hope you’ll stop by my shop sometime and take a look at the designs I’ve digitized using Viking’s 6D Premier. http://Www.21Reasons.Etsy.com.

    Blessings, and happy stitching!
    Alyson

    Reply

  8. Taye Ganga
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 23:59:28

    I gotta say I LOVE my Ruby. Honestly I cant imagine giving her up for anything.

    Reply

  9. Gayle Alstrom
    May 15, 2015 @ 07:55:30

    I only have a Kenmore. Would love a Bernina some day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

Depression doesn't define me anymore. Now its all (mostly) about inspiration and adventure

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

Katy Trail Creations

Find the appliances kitchen and good recipes

Quilting and Embroidery

bringing beauty into the world

The Springboard

Jumping Headfirst into Creativity

nerdylibrarianlife.wordpress.com/

Crafts, Books and Other Nerdy Interests

Readerly Geek

Films, Books, and All Sorts of Geekery

CoffewithCreamer DIY'er , Crunchy Mom

Failing forward with each try

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

thistledownandswaddlings

Thistledown and Swaddlings, Jewelry, quilting, baby stuff and some artwork

Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

Zippy Quilts

Modern Quilts With A Twist

