Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring, as in Handspring!

Gymnastics, the collegiate sport version, ended in late April, with three Gator girls in the NCAA finals. We’ve been able to go see some Gator Gymnastics in the past few years, having a couple of granddaughters who love everything about tumbling, balance beam, uneven bars, the works! But we’ve been crazy busy this year, and the season just sort of passed us by…

I did get a remnant project going: girls’ tumbling leotards from remnants!

Jalie leotards

Jalie Choix de Léotards

I love this Jalie 2792 pattern, because … it’s cute, versatile (22 sizes in one pattern, 3 necklines and 3 sleeve options), the directions are very clear and understandable, and it gives a method for sewing stretchy knits without a serger (which I tried and I think I like it even better than if I used the serger). The sizing is a little different than what I normally expect. But if you use the subject’s measurements, you are all set up to make an item that will fit. I hope anyway. The seam allowances are supposed to be 1/4″; if I sewed them larger than that, I might have a problem…Anyway, I will let my little models try on a prototype before I make them a second leotard. Another plus is that super-stretchy remnants always seem to be found in the remnant bin at JoAnn’s. You can make a girl’s leotard from a rather small length of spandex-infused fabric. And with these great patterns that have contrasting color yokes, you can use up lots of smallish pieces of remnants with very cool results! I bought some glitter elastic to sew on as an embellishment, on top of where the white yoke connects with the gold body of the suit. I could have bought some stretchy sequin trim as is shown in the pattern view B sleeveless, but it is recommended to be removed before laundering, and I didn’t want the girls or their moms to have to fuss with that.

I copied the pattern view I wanted in the size I wanted to make, onto Pellon Easy Pattern. I had some 3/8″ elastic, which is called for on the arm and leg openings. I had clear elastic and white braided elastic. I decided to use the clear elastic, until it snapped in two without much pull, then I realized why I had a lot of that around: because it’s not worth using. The package says “good for infant wear”–ah yes, because the infant will outgrow the item before it’s even worn two times. I would not advise using the clear elastic for anything that gets stretched, and why would you put elastic in something unless it was to be stretched? :idea: Regular elastic, good stuff!

is this the costume of a future Gator Gymnast?

is this the costume of a future Gator Gymnast?

gator gymnastics

Go Gators!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suyashchopra
    May 03, 2014 @ 09:26:23

    Wow what a perspective of spring! Really loved your blog as it was so different from the usual ‘spring’. The end product was so cool. Great post…Thanks for stopping by my blogs :)


  2. jenyjenny
    May 04, 2014 @ 06:38:40

    Thank you for your kind comment! <3


  3. menomama3
    May 04, 2014 @ 07:49:30

    That’s a refreshing take on “spring”! Cute.


Leave a Reply

Crafting in the 21st Century

Using current technology to create 19th Century crafts

Land of Images

Just another WordPress.com site

A Riving Home

Ramblings of a Recusant Woodworker

Christine's Blog

Photography, knitting, and more


Handmade, Festive Adornments


a learning log - adventure in knitting, spinning, whatevs

SnugglebuggS Knits

Knitting & Crocheting

Little Jenny Button

Craft... Make... Create... Bake.

Florida Behind the Scenes

Exploring Gainesville and beyond

a little bit of what I like on one site


Staying Positive

Let's Just Try It

a compilation of inspiration and creative endeavors of a mom and daughter duo

Through my heart clearly

By women, for women, of women

Kit Dunsmore's Blog

Creating a Handmade Life, One Moment at a Time

Mom of 3 Silly Boys

Life just got interesting

Unconventional Conformity

Every Day Rantings

A Walk in the Garden

"How quickly comes the sun when first it sets its mind to rise." - - j. s. v.

password: quilt

imagine. create. inspire.

Zippy Quilts

Modern Quilts With A Twist

Badfish Out of Water

Travel photos, memoirs & letters home...from anywhere in the world

Musings and Motion

Thoughts on knitting, sewing, and fitness...

The Scrappy Storyteller

a resourceful approach to imagination

More blue fabric?

One woman's sewing adventures, normally in blue

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Quilting and S'mores Kraft

Be creative, Be You ...


A fine WordPress.com site

Adventures in art and design

original art and crafts


knitting and crochet

ShopJoya Magazine

Creating with fabric. Creating fashion. Creating Beautiful & Healthy Homes.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Effervescent Hedgepig

Handcrafted Jewelry

The Best Years Are...

What you make them...

Because crafting doesn't have to be expensive or difficult!

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations While Walking

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Junees Art Threads

Textile art using threads and paint.

Judy Robinson Designs

WrenSong Flutes & Kanteles

My urban homestead

Producing food on a city lot


Smile! You’re about to see the world through my eyes!

Opal Reflections

Perspectives through Prose, Poetry and Photography

Pastry & purls

Creativity, taste, life

Cy's Corner

Working on wood and smiles.


age is just a (biggish) number) NUMBER

Kirsten Aufhammer Photography

discovering my inner artist's voice

Rose of Sharon Healing

Herbs and Healing for the Nations


Today is Better Than Yesterday

Yarns N Threads

A place where traditional craft interacts with my modern life…


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 554 other followers

