Short and Sweet, with Remnants (& Twisted Straps)

Where have the past few days gone? I’ve been languishing in a Mucinex and/or Nyquil-induced stupor. Worst cough; broken ribs? Ugh.
I haven’t even left the house since Sunday and it’s already Thursday night.

Since I was fairly incapacitated I tried to do some remnant projects. And I didn’t totally screw them up. I got in some good practice projects, using up lycra spandex remnants.

Jalie leotards

Jalie leotard pattern 3354

The orange and blue leotard with the twisted 😈 asymmetrical shoulder straps is going to be used as a swim suit. This week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge theme is Twist. For more Weekly Photo Challenge: Twisted, look here.
As they say, “filthy with meaning!”

I discovered a very compelling detail about my remnant stretch-knit-fabric stash. Of all the different lycra-spandex remnant rolls I’ve got racked up, each one has a different percentage of lycra or spandex, meaning that some fabrics are much more stretchy than others. When you look at a pattern envelope under the fabric suggestions, it will tell you that you need fabric for this project that has, say, 50% stretch in both length and width. Or, 70% stretch. But when you look at the label on the fabric bolt, it won’t say “this fabric has 50% stretch.” You have to measure a length of the fabric between your fingers and thumbs, line it up to the graph on the pattern envelope where it says “this much fabric must stretch to………..here.” I thought my DH could come up with formula for that. Some fabrics have 13% lycra, some 7% lycra, some 18% lycra. How stretchy does that make them? I still don’t know. But it would be helpful to know if you need to use a larger size pattern for less-stretchy fabric, and how much larger?

I love the Jalie patterns. I had a question about one of the patterns, and emailed the company to ask it. I got a friendly, personal, valuable response about my prospective sewing project the next morning!

I bought a pattern from Jalie that was a downloadable pdf. I found that it was very easy to use that way, although I prefer buying the paper pattern and having it posted to me. For the same price, I got a download and had to use my own paper and printer ink, but it came to me immediately, whereas I had to wait a few days for the paper one to be shipped from Canada.

Jalie patterns

Jalie 3022

Jalie pattern 3022 is for yoga pants or shorts. We went to watch a granddaughter at gymnastics practice, and there were leotards and matching shorts sets for sale on the premises: $45 for a leotard and $25 for shorts, or $65 if you bought a matching set. Wow! That is the retail cost of a gymnastics outfit. If you could learn to make them yourself, using a cute little Jalie pattern that costs about $15, some knitted elastic, and a yard or less of lycra-spandex remnants that are 50% off the regular price, you could have a cute outfit to exercise in. I wanted to see how long it took me to make a pair of yoga shorts from start to finish.

First I had to trace the pattern on to Pattern-Ease (Jalie patterns come in 20 or more sizes). Tracing the pattern, cutting out the material, sewing it up–this pair of shorts took me just under 2 hours to make.

tracing pattern

tracing the pattern

I did hurry and as a result it looks rather unprofessional: seams a little uneven, and I didn’t use a serger to coverstitch the hems as the instructions said. Next pair will be better. I like the contrasting colored waistband and the seam down the back of the pants legs. I should mention that I use designated “Stretch” needles for working with these knits. I used Jeanne Binet’s technique for sewing stretchy knits without a serger. You can find some You-tube videos that show you exactly how to do it, and what great results!

leotard and shorts

Jalie leotard and matching shorts

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ethgran
    May 29, 2014 @ 22:45:20

    These look great! You will become an expert sewing with that stuff in no time. I finished the skating dress for my granddaughter yesterday and will get it mailed tomorrow. I ended up putting nearly 200 crystals on the front using the Hotfix tool. It was a lot of work but worth it. The tool is fairly easy to use but using it on velvet proved challenging but it is now done and ready for a young ladies excitement. Don’t you just love making things for grandchildren?

    Reply

  2. jenyjenny
    May 30, 2014 @ 03:36:54

    🙂 Yes, I hope my imagination suits them when I dream up things to do I think they will like. I’ve had some adventures with the hot-fix tool, too. Lesson learned: don’t attempt early in the morning… 😳

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fascinating World

A small attempt to gather unusual and amazing facts about elements of Nature.

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

Yarn, Books & Roses

life with a chronic disease and a really big yarn stash

Tricia, Daisy and May too

Where dachshunds garden.

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

Ain't Found A Good Title Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

Saturday Arvo Thoughts...

Reflections on topics influenced by my interest in travel, family history and history in general. Watch this space…

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

A Trivial Mind At Work

Photography by Dennis Wagoner

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

househusband, bucketlister, storyteller

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

Looking for meanings in words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

