Life and Times, with Remnants

Life, I’ve lately realized, is fleeting.

We’ve been celebrating the life of my mother, the mortal phase of which ended two weeks ago.

 

Mom

Me and Mom 2014

Mom

Mom (1929)

 

I’m seeing some similarities in more than just the hair styles in these photos!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With lots of family things going on, and getting back into the flow of daily events again, I haven’t finished many sewing projects, except for this one, a shopper I started last year.

Shopping bag

Kwik Sew Shopping bag with steam punk embroidery motif

The embroidery motif is from a collection of steampunk Christmas designs at Urban Threads. Notice how the bag makes exemplary use of small pieces of remnant fabric? I hope to make more of these lovelies, but I can’t guarantee that I will have time now, the holidays being almost here!  Distractions abound!

Time, that fleeting thing that life is made out of, has been taken up with associations, both usual and unusual. Relationships have been both renewed and undone. Motives have been questioned. Long-standing resentments have been acknowledged and tolerated. Prayers have been issued. Cold hands have been held, then relinquished and folded together in repose.

Do I feel bereft? No. I believe the dead are still with us partly, in spirit. I am one of those who believes that the Spirit World is the Earth’s spirit. Just like our spirit is attached to our physical body, so is the Spirit World attached to the Earth’s body. I believe in eternal life and in the Resurrection, when spirit and physique will be reunited. I don’t feel swimming in denial, but full of hope and faith that God is in charge of this whole scenario, and that His plan will prevail. It’s going to be good, all good.

Surprisingly, my recent post about a video-game themed wedding has been scrutinized. Some folks have been wondering just what I may have been alluding to in the post, asking to whom I was referring, because of course, I surely could not have attributed abusive behavior to them!

“If the shoe fits, wear it.”  Put it on, fasten it up, take a practice step in it, see how it feels, and wear it. Abuse is abuse, whether it is physical, mental, emotional, or whatever.  How exhilarating to wake up to the prospect of living life without fear, without the dull ache of having been put in your place, a place of inferiority and submission to another person who is supposed to “love” you. Exhilarating to reclaim one’s self-esteem, which has been systematically beaten back time after time after time.  Hmmm, there may be some sense in living through miserable times, if you can learn to appreciate the good times.

Meanwhile, DH is closer to completing his table.  Lots of months of hard work!

walnut table

DH’s natural-edge walnut table

ebony plugs

Breadboard edge of table with ebony accents

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jimholroyd365
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 22:07:22

    I’m sorry you have lost your mother from this mortal coil. Life is indeed fleeting, we feel this acutely when we lose a parent. I lost my father in 2011. I, too, believe God is in charge of the whole scenario and we see his plans dimly from our earthly mortal perspective.

    Reply

  2. ethgran
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 17:30:04

    Excellent blog. Everything eventually falls in to place as you struggle through this mortal existence and learn from your and others mistakes and failings. It is so comforting to know that there is a reason and that the outcome will be glorious.

    Reply

  3. willothewizp
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 08:44:06

    Thanks for introducing me to Urban Threads! I don’t sew yet but now I want to learn 🙂

    Reply

  4. Na Na
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 18:04:37

    Sorry to hear about your mother. I do believe there is a land where those who have loved and lost shall meet to love again.

    Reply

  5. Sky Blue Daze
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 13:22:06

    Thanks for looking into my blog. Your expression of the fleeting moment is right on the spot in your paragraph “Time, that fleeting…together in repose.” My mom passed in 07 and I have all of her knitting needles. I learned knitting again a few years ago. She taught me as a child but kids don’t sit still enough to knit. I didn’t. She taught me to sew and embroider, too.I have a collection of embroidered table linens and I keep buying more, planning to re-purpose them.I looked at Urban Threads in McCall last night, a store, and today I find your link to an embroidery co. with the same name. Love their designs.We are in sync. I have a studio full of fabrics to mess with and a trunk of yarn. I’ll be glad to see what more you design and put on your blog. Here is some of my knitting from a photo challenge “warmth”. Show me yours. http://skybluedaze.wordpress.com/2014/11/17/knitting-warm-colors/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

Depression doesn't define me anymore. Now its all (mostly) about inspiration and adventure

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

Katy Trail Creations

Find the appliances kitchen and good recipes

Quilting and Embroidery

bringing beauty into the world

The Springboard

Jumping Headfirst into Creativity

nerdylibrarianlife.wordpress.com/

Crafts, Books and Other Nerdy Interests

Readerly Geek

Films, Books, and All Sorts of Geekery

CoffewithCreamer DIY'er , Crunchy Mom

Failing forward with each try

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

thistledownandswaddlings

Thistledown and Swaddlings, Jewelry, quilting, baby stuff and some artwork

Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

