She Didn’t Let Me Down

Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

Thanks to all the military relatives and friends who have sacrificed so much for us in America. We can enjoy cookouts, water parks, watching old movies, going to the fro-yo place this four-day weekend, thanks to them. My heart goes out to the people in other countries right now who are dealing with misery and want.

My parents were both in the Army, and my grandfather and brother were in the Navy. One of my sons went into the Army, and has served in Korea, Afghanistan and Iraq. I’m grateful for the mindfulness of the military those associations have brought me. I seem to be enjoying a prosperous time right now, but I don’t want to forget the wars waged, the losses, the changes.

This weekend, Ancestry.com is offering free access if you want to search their military records for records of your ancestors. And if you haven’t set up a pedigree chart so far, you can do so with a free account on familysearch.org. Family Search is getting better and more public records are added all the time. I promise you, researching your ancestors is a fun and addictive hobby!

I decided to do a little sewing, and chose this Burdastyle wrap dress from their March 2015 UK issue.

wrap dress

Cotton sateen wrap dress from Burdastyle March 2015

The level of difficulty was greater than what I’ve been used to, but I tried to rise to the occasion! First, I had to trace the pattern, and it had all sorts of weird pieces. Waistband pieces, facings, slashes, pleats. Interfacing. For notions, I needed 2 snaps and a button. I looked all over and finally found exactly 2 large-enough snaps in the zipper drawer.

snaps

two snaps left in the stash

Would you believe this pack of snaps went for 50 cents? Once again, my grandmother didn’t let me down. She has been gone since 1995, but I am still benefitting from the thrifty cache of notions and sewing paraphernalia in her old teak sewing desk.

Have a great weekend!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ethgran
    May 23, 2015 @ 22:16:50

    Love the dress. Where did you find cotton Sateen? I used to use it a lot but haven’t seen it for years. So nice a crisp. I finished stenciling Pack # on 10 cub scout tees so maybe I will find time to make the blouse I have had cut out forever. Or seems that way. I need to wear it at the next Pack Meeting which is only 10 days away!

    Reply

  2. kealoha625
    May 25, 2015 @ 13:10:38

    i love this post. Yes, I too am very grateful too for all the people who sacrificed so much so that we could enjoy our lives.

    And this dress is SO cute!

    Reply

  3. mariegriffith
    Jun 05, 2015 @ 20:52:37

    You are talented at sewing. Thrift and repurposing are two of my favorite things.

    Thank you for reminding us all how much we have to be thankful for here because of our military. We are truly blessed.

    My son is going to join the military. He is looking at the Marines and the Army. How proud you must be of your family for their service.

    Reply

  4. embroideredtreasures
    Jun 07, 2015 @ 09:03:05

    I love the dress — cotton sateen was one of my go to fabrics for dresses — it drapes so nicely.

    Reply

    • jenyjenny
      Jun 07, 2015 @ 11:41:40

      Thank you, unfortunately the recipient lost a bunch of weight and it didn’t fit her…grrr…plan B? Not sure how easy it will be to adjust with side pockets and those waistband pieces that fasten at both hips…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

medical plaintalk

Medical topics based on author's columns for The Elks Magazine, the official publication of the fraternal order of the Elks of the United States of America.

Here In Fowlerville

Our Journey with Family, Faith, Friendship, and Fun

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Patchwork Pirate

Keeping up with life, the universe, and everything!

My Creative Corner3

ONE stitch. ONE block. ONE row at at time-Vicki

The other side

Blogging on autism and art.

Fascinating World

A small attempt to gather unusual and amazing facts about elements of Nature.

Tanglewood Knots

Crochet Stories and Yarns

Yarn, Books & Roses

life with a chronic disease and a really big yarn stash

Tricia, Daisy and May too

Where dachshunds garden.

Don Cormier

" Your body is your temple"

Ain't Found A Good Title Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

Saturday Arvo Thoughts...

Reflections on topics influenced by my interest in travel, family history and history in general. Watch this space…

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

A Trivial Mind At Work

Photography by Dennis Wagoner

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

househusband, bucketlister, storyteller

Living for Experiences

Simplify . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Random babbling about sewing, life and whatever comes to mind.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

Looking for meanings in words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

