Project Remnant Redo’s Muse

room

office, oasis, studio, space, with cat

This week’s WordPress photo challenge is “Muse.” My muse is most often Grayzie the cat, sleeping there in the chair. I take more pictures of him than anything else, mostly because he’s so darn a-muse-ing. But hey, as far as muses go, this recent redo to my sewing room/home office has provided lots of creative inspiration.

I don’t have a “before” pic to show you, and if I did I might not post it because I don’t want to see it later as a Hoarder’s Worst Nightmare …

But it is a remnant redo project, too. My old desk, which was attached to the armoire there on the right, stretched to the corner then right-angled in an L shape along the back wall. That window on the right wall was almost completely blocked by the back of the desk, which had a shelf unit for CD’s, storage of all sorts. On top of the desk shelf were stacks of books, and baskets on top, which went almost all the way to the top of the window.

Proponents of feng shui might say that you should never have your desk facing the back of the room, you should have it situated so that when you are seated at your desk, you can see the door when someone comes in. But notice, there is a sunburst mirror on the wall, so that when I’m seated at the desk I can check the mirror and see if someone is sneaking up on me through the doorway. Plus, I can open the blinds and see the beautiful neighborhood while I’m working, which gives me a new sense of expansion, as if I’m part of the outside world as well as operating inside my cave of creativity. The best of both worlds…

The desk had a nice faux-granite top that was hard and sturdy. But the rest of it was particle-board with a paper-thin veneer on top, and when I moved it here, it didn’t survive the trip very well. Many of the bolts that held it together got jostled and ripped out chunks of particle board, so DH had to rig it with many shims and clamps and such. I actually worked at the desk for over a year, with a big pipe-clamp stretched across my keyboard from the window to the end of the armoire. If I ever had to open the armoire to retrieve something, my keyboard tray would fall to the floor with a loud, agonizing crash.

What I added:

3 filing cabinets

shelf even with top of armoire, moved plastic file boxes to this shelf

a new store-bought keyboard tray (hasn’t been installed yet)

new plastic chair mat

new ink for printer that has been spewing out documents in shades of pink lately

3 shelves and brackets on back wall (some of the brackets we already had)

white spray-painted cans on lower back shelf (cans were former Christmas gifts of popcorn or cookies or butter-rum life-savers)

corner shelf DH put together from desk remnants and spray-painted white

a new Clear Sounds phone DH got me from FTRI

 

In some ways it’s like a kindergarten classroom*, with “stations” for each activity: sewing, cutting, serging, embroidery, quilting, drawing, painting, photography, jewelry-making, knitting, other crafts, writing, the volunteer work that I do, genealogy, processing mail.

*This thought is distilled from my memories of a couple of organizational books by Julie Morganstern.

There’s a bookcase over to the right of the armoire, now filled about half and half with fabric and books. Why have books stacked up all over when they could be in the bookcase where they belong?

Grayzie loves the new redo. He has plenty of serene new surfaces to lie down on, and when he gets bored he can jump up to the serger table and mangle all the thread paths for a fun activity. And how quick can my hand travel across the room to his furry neck? J/K, he’s my muse.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ethgran
    Jun 27, 2015 @ 17:32:15

    Goodness, Hon. The room looks huge – but that must be a trick of the camera in taking the picture. I Know that it is such a small room that one can barely turn around it – right? I’m so jealous I can’t see straight! I spent all week working on cleaning out my multipurpose room and it looks no better than when I started. The big difference is that I now know where stuff is and that stuff is accessible plus most of my dark hidden places are cleared out and no longer so ‘dark’. I still have the sewing corner to deal with and maybe under the bed – still very dark and mysterious. Enough is done to get some of that sense of uforia one gets when all is right with the world – then I turned on the TV. grrrrrr Now if I could just install my WIFI – life might become more pleasant as I choose what I want to see on that TV. sigh

    Reply

    • jenyjenny
      Jun 27, 2015 @ 18:01:52

      Ha, ha, yeah, you couldn’t turn around in the room before because all those long plastic boxes on the shelves used to be in the middle of the floor–now, the trick is not to fill up every available space with junk again. Woman, you need to get that Wi-fi going…

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Thrift Story Candy | litadoolan
  3. paisleypedlar
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 03:19:39

    What a fabulous space!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Muse : The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge - Sylvain LANDRY
  5. Dancing Echoes
    Jul 11, 2015 @ 08:12:59

    What a nice re-do. I like your writing style too. You are funny. I look forward to reading more of your work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

jumissshop

And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

Sew and Sew

A complete newbie! Join me as I navigate my way around the vast world of sewing, learn and improve upon my sewing skills and document my experiences along the way.

Reinventing Valentina Wolfe

True freedom starts with accepting who you are.

Darpity Jean's Blog

DJ's Ancestral Regional Postcards In Time-honored Years. James Extended Ancestors Narration Stories By Location Or Genealogy.

Settle in El Paso

A family blog

(Almost) Unsalvageable

Depression doesn't define me anymore. Now its all (mostly) about inspiration and adventure

Living for Experiences

Simplicity . Travel . Explore

The Interior of My Brain: A Knitting and Fiber Arts Blog

Unlocking the secrets of the universe, one knitting project at a time

maisiethenewfieandcompany

a shared life with our very large dogs

The Reflections

Reflections of my mind; reflections of the things around us.

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

eatcookcreate

A blog about the things I love most; eating, cooking, and art.

Psalmboxkey's Blog

Humble Contributions to the Peoples' History

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Lost in Translation

An attempt to convey meanings through words, images and sounds

Exploring the world

Photography, travel, art

Make, Sew & Love ♥

Creative, little projects made by me

Jim Gatling's CrAzY CrEaTiVe LiFe

My Art, My Quilts. My Friends, My Life

Raeanne G. Roy

Ottawa speculative fiction writer

The Workbasket

New Projects from an Old Magazine

Dizzy Quilter

Sewing in Circles

sandrajohnsondesigns

Sewing and Quilting my Life from Me To You

Stitchin by Machine Blog

making magic with Machine Embroidery

More than a Cat

Much. Much. More!

Paint Drops Keep Falling

the blog of Claire Leggett, painter and crafter, Birmingham, UK

graceful threads of inspiration...

"digitising and creating breathtakingly beautiful machine embroidery!"

insearchofitall

Looking for answers to life's questions

Like It Never Was Blog

Antiques, Home Decor and More

Me 'n' Henry Lee

Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

Simply Lovely Things

a place for inspiration and instruction

Tumped Duck

Knitting Patterns & Teaching by Barbara Benson

Katy Trail Creations

Find the appliances kitchen and good recipes

Quilting and Embroidery

bringing beauty into the world

The Springboard

Jumping Headfirst into Creativity

nerdylibrarianlife.wordpress.com/

Crafts, Books and Other Nerdy Interests

Readerly Geek

Films, Books, and All Sorts of Geekery

CoffewithCreamer DIY'er , Crunchy Mom

Failing forward with each try

asnappshot

A great WordPress.com site

thistledownandswaddlings

Thistledown and Swaddlings, Jewelry, quilting, baby stuff and some artwork

Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

Zippy Quilts

Modern Quilts With A Twist

